Differences

This shows you the differences between two versions of the page.

Link to this comparison view

Both sides previous revision Previous revision
Next revision
Previous revision
drugs_cystic_fibrosis [2026/08/03 10:28] – Scott Larsondrugs_cystic_fibrosis [2026/08/03 11:13] (current) – [References] Scott Larson
Line 1: Line 1:
 ====== Drugs for Cystic Fibrosis ====== ====== Drugs for Cystic Fibrosis ======
-=== Trikafta=== +  * **Trikafta** (elexacaftor/tezacaftor/ivacaftor),   
-elexacaftor/tezacaftor/ivacaftor +  * **Kalydeco** (ivacaftor) 
- +  * **Orkambi** (lumacaftor/ivacaftor) 
-  * transmembrane conductance regulator potentiator  +  * **Symdeko** (tezacaftor/ivacaftor) 
-  * Approved for ages 2 and older +  * **Alyftrek** (vanzacaftor/tezacaftor/deutivacaftor) 
-  * [[https://www-bmj-com.proxy.lib.uiowa.edu/content/361/bmj.k1783|Review Article]] +  * Outside North America, Trikafta is marketed as Kaftrio, and Symdeko as Symkevi 
- +  * this class of drugs regular transmembrane conductance 
-==== Cataracts with Lumacaftor/Ivacaftor ====+  
 +==== Cataracts with Lumacaftor/Ivacaftor (Orkambi) ====
   * Cataracts were found in juvenile rats in pre-clinical toxicology studies   * Cataracts were found in juvenile rats in pre-clinical toxicology studies
   * Cataracts have been discovered in a few children taking this drug. The concomitant use of steroids or other pre-existing coniditions could not be excluded.    * Cataracts have been discovered in a few children taking this drug. The concomitant use of steroids or other pre-existing coniditions could not be excluded. 
Line 19: Line 20:
 === Cataracts / Lens Opacities === === Cataracts / Lens Opacities ===
  
-  * Non-congenital lens opacities have been reported in pediatric patients on ivacaftor-containing regimens. Confounders (corticosteroid use, radiation exposure) were present in some cases, but a drug-attributable risk cannot be excluded.*[1] +  * Non-congenital lens opacities have been reported in pediatric patients on ivacaftor-containing regimens. Confounders (corticosteroid use, radiation exposure) were present in some cases, but a drug-attributable risk cannot be excluded.[1] 
-  * Signal originates from juvenile animal toxicology: cataracts occurred in rats dosed from postnatal day 7 through 35 at ivacaftor >=10 mg/kg/day (0.21x MRHD by systemic exposure); not seen in older animals.*[1] +  * Signal originates from juvenile animal toxicology: cataracts occurred in rats dosed from postnatal day 7 through 35 at ivacaftor >=10 mg/kg/day (0.21x MRHD by systemic exposure); not seen in older animals.[1] 
-  * In clinical trials, cataracts are classified as an **uncommon** adverse event across all CFTR modulators, including ETI, and were not observed as a treatment effect in human trials.*[2][3]+  * In clinical trials, cataracts are classified as an **uncommon** adverse event across all CFTR modulators, including ETI, and were not observed as a treatment effect in human trials.[2][3]
  
 === Intracranial Hypertension === === Intracranial Hypertension ===
  
-  * Reported postmarketing; manifestations include headache, blurred vision, diplopia, and potential vision loss, with papilledema on fundoscopy.*[1] +  * Reported postmarketing; manifestations include headache, blurred vision, diplopia, and potential vision loss, with papilledema on fundoscopy.[1] 
-  * **Patients with elevated vitamin A levels may be at increased risk** — relevant given routine fat-soluble vitamin supplementation in CF.*[1] +  * **Patients with elevated vitamin A levels may be at increased risk** — relevant given routine fat-soluble vitamin supplementation in CF.[1] 
-  * If unusual headache or visual disturbance occurs and IH is suspected, **interrupt Trikafta and refer for prompt medical evaluation**; monitor until resolution and for recurrence. Resumption requires individualized risk-benefit assessment.*[1]+  * If unusual headache or visual disturbance occurs and IH is suspected, **interrupt Trikafta and refer for prompt medical evaluation**; monitor until resolution and for recurrence. Resumption requires individualized risk-benefit assessment.[1]
  
 === Other Reported Ocular Symptoms === === Other Reported Ocular Symptoms ===
Line 34: Line 35:
  
 ==== Practical Monitoring Approach ==== ==== Practical Monitoring Approach ====
- +<WRAP round box 85%> 
-^ Element ^ Recommendation ^ Reference ^ +^ Element ^ Recommendation ^ 
- +| Baseline eye exam | Recommended in pediatric patients before/at initiation of ETI | 
-| Baseline eye exam | Recommended in pediatric patients before/at initiation of ETI | |[1] +| Follow-up exams | Follow-up ophthalmologic examinations recommended in pediatric patients; yearly exams most common| 
- +| Adults | No routine screening exam mandated by label; evaluate symptom-driven| 
-| Follow-up exams | Follow-up ophthalmologic examinations recommended in pediatric patients; commonly operationalized as annual exams through age [1] +| New headache or visual disturbance (any age) | Interrupt drug; urgent evaluation including fundoscopy for papilledema; consider vitamin A level | 
- +| Class effect | Same cataract monitoring applies to ivacaftor, lumacaftor-ivacaftor, and tezacaftor-ivacaftor |
-| Adults | No routine screening exam mandated by label; evaluate symptom-driven | |[1] +
- +
-| New headache or visual disturbance (any age) | Interrupt drug; urgent evaluation including fundoscopy for papilledema; consider vitamin A level | |[1] +
- +
-| Class effect | Same cataract monitoring applies to ivacaftor, lumacaftor-ivacaftor, and tezacaftor-ivacaftor | |[1]+
  
 The recommended exam should include **slit-lamp assessment for lens opacities and fundoscopy**. The label does not specify a fixed interval beyond "baseline and follow-up"; annual examination during childhood is the convention derived from review guidance.[3] The recommended exam should include **slit-lamp assessment for lens opacities and fundoscopy**. The label does not specify a fixed interval beyond "baseline and follow-up"; annual examination during childhood is the convention derived from review guidance.[3]
 +</WRAP>
 =====References===== =====References=====
  
-1. Trikafta. Food and Drug Administration. Updated date: 2026-06-22. +  - [[https://www.accessdata.fda.gov/drugsatfda_docs/label/2021/212273s004lbl.pdf|Trikafta. Food and Drug Administration. Updated date: 2026-06-22]] 
-2. Cystic Fibrosis. Grasemann H, Ratjen F. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2023;389(18):1693-1707. doi:10.1056/NEJMra2216474. +  - [[https://www.nejm.org/doi/10.1056/NEJMra2216474|Cystic Fibrosis. Grasemann H, Ratjen F. The New England Journal of Medicine. 2023;389(18):1693-1707]] 
-3. Cystic Fibrosis. Ong T, Ramsey BW. JAMA. 2023;329(21):1859-1871. doi:10.1001/jama.2023.8120. +  - [[https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/37278811/|Cystic Fibrosis. Ong T, Ramsey BW. JAMA. 2023;329(21):1859-1871]] 
-4. Heterogeneity in Reported Side Effects Following Initiation of Elexacaftor‐Tezacaftor‐Ivacaftor: Experiences at a Quaternary CF Care Center. Papadakis L, Stander T, Mombourquette J, et al. Pediatric Pulmonology. 2025;60(1):e27382. doi:10.1002/ppul.27382.+  - [[https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/39503182/|Heterogeneity in Reported Side Effects Following Initiation of Elexacaftor‐Tezacaftor‐Ivacaftor: Experiences at a Quaternary CF Care Center. Papadakis L, Stander T, Mombourquette J, et al. Pediatric Pulmonology. 2025;60(1):e27382]] 
 +  - [[https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC2137053/|Cystic Fibrosis. Davies JC et al. BMJ 2007;335(7632):1255–1259]]
  
 {{tag>drugs}} {{tag>drugs}}